Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

TLC Department News

OLS Senior Jon Madrigal selected as 2018 IUPUI Commencement Speaker


Jon Madrigal, senior student of Organizational Leadership, was selected as the 2018 IUPUI Student Commencement Speaker. Madrigal will be addressing thousands of graduates at commencement on May 12 at Lucas Oil Stadium. In addition to his OLS degree, he will be graduating with a minor in Public Safety Management and a certificate in Human Resource Management. Madrigal will be the second OLS student in a row to be selected as commencement speaker. For more on his story, visit

Posted 5/1/2018


Dr. Hovde Nominated for the 2018 Outstanding Graduate and Professional Student Mentor Award


Dr. Marjorie Rush Hovde, Associate Professor of Technical Communication and Chair of Graduate Programs in the Department of Technology Leadership and Communication at IUPUI, was recently nominated to receive the 2018 IUPUI Outstanding Graduate and Professional Student Mentor Award. This Award is offered by the IUPUI Graduate Mentoring Center. The Graduate Mentoring Center “strives to provide resources and opportunities for faculty and staff to strengthen their skills in mentoring graduate and professional students.” As a nominee, Dr. Hovde has been invited to share her mentoring expertise by 1) joining a program to improve mentoring at IUPUI, 2) sharing her “best practices” on the IUPUI Graduate Mentoring Center website, and 3) attending workshops and programs sponsored by the IUPUI Graduate Mentoring Center. For more information about the Graduate Mentoring Center, visit 

Posted 4/18/18

Clinical Assistant Professor Patricia Fox Wins ASEE’s Spread the Word/Campus Representative Award


Patricia Fox, Clinical Assistant Professor of Organizational Leadership, was honored by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) with the Spread the Word/Campus Representative Award this month for “the highest number and the highest percentage of faculty recruited in the Illinois-Indiana Section during the 2017-2018 membership promotion campaign.” She will be honored at the Annual Campus Representatives Reception at the ASEE annual conference this summer. ASEE seeks to advance “innovation, excellence, and access at all levels of education for the engineering profession.” Professor Fox serves as Vice President of Institutional Councils and Chair of the Engineering Technology Council of ASEE (Executive Committee). For more information about ASEE, visit

Posted 4/18/18

Dr. Corinne Renguette Welcomed Into FACET

2018-Induction-Ceremony-Slides-Template.pngDr. Corinne Renguette, Assistant Professor of Technical Communication, recently earned membership into the Faculty Academy on Excellence in Teaching (FACET). FACET selected twenty faculty members from IU campuses across Indiana to be the Class of 2018 for showing “exceptional commitment to teaching and learning through areas of self-evaluation, course preparation, research, instructional skills, and student impact.” FACET is an IU Presidential initiative established in 1989 as a community of exceptional faculty to promote and enhance teaching excellence at IU and beyond. For more information about FACET and the Class of 2018, visit

Posted 4/18/18

More News