Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

IUPUI faculty member named fellow of AAAS

November 24, 2014

Edward Berbari

Edward Berbari

IUPUI faculty member Edward J. Berbari has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a distinction that recognizes outstanding contributions to the progress of science and research.

Berbari is a Chancellor’s Professor and chair of the biomedical engineering department at IUPUI. His election this year, along with Thomas Sterling and P. Sarita Soni of IU Bloomington, brings the number of AAAS fellows affiliated with Indiana University to 89.

“These three outstanding scholars have advanced science through important and original work in fields ranging from high-resolution electrocardiography to correction of vision problems to extreme-scale computing,” IU President Michael A. McRobbie said. "They are highly deserving of this tremendous honor, which also brings great credit to Indiana University.”

Berbari was formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the Nov. 28 issue of the journal Science.

Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon association members by their peers. The AAAS citations of merit for Berbari reads as follows: "For distinguished contributions to the field of cardiac electrophysiology and in particular sudden cardiac death and to bioengineering education."

Berbari chairs the biomedical engineering department in the Purdue School of Engineering and Technology at IUPUI. He has conducted research in cardiac electrophysiology for over 40 years, with special interests in high-resolution electrocardiography, cardiac mapping and biophysical modeling. He served on the Whitaker Foundation Fellowship Award Committee for six years and the National Institutes of Health Surgery and Bioengineering Study Section for five years.

Berbari is among 401 AAAS members who were awarded the honor because of their efforts to advance science or its applications. New fellows will be recognized Feb. 14 during the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, Calif.

The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Members may be nominated for the honor by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, by any three fellows who are current AAAS members or by the AAAS chief executive officer.