Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

Purdue School of Engineering and Technology

Chancellor joins honor recipients

April 29, 2015

Charles R. Bantz, IUPUI Chancellor

Charles R. Bantz, IUPUI Chancellor

Chancellor Charles R. Bantz spent most of last week’s Chancellor’s Academic Honors Convocation handing out honors and awards, congratulating recipients and enjoying the chance to share the recent successes of IUPUI faculty, staff and students.

But near the end of this year’s celebration in Hine Hall, the chancellor found out what it’s like to be on the receiving end of recognition. Former Chancellor Gerald L. Bepko presented Bantz with the Gerald L. Bepko Outstanding Administrator Award, with Marianne Wokeck, president of the Faculty Council, enumerating the contributions Bantz has made during his tenure, which will come to a close this summer.

The Bepko Award is presented periodically to recognize outstanding administrators who work well with the IUPUI faculty to build a strong academic climate.

Among this year’s top teaching awards, Yaobin Chen of the School of Engineering and Technology received a Chancellor’s Professor Award. Stephen L. Fox of the School of Liberal Arts was honored for Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and Lori D. Patton Davis of the School of Education was honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Multicultural Teaching.

Thu Sương Thị Nguyễn of the School of Education was the recipient of the Chancellor’s Diversity Scholar Award, while Heather A. McCabe of the School of Social Work and the Robert H. McKinney School of Law was recognized for service “above and beyond the call of duty,” an award made by the Faculty Council.

Two faculty members were honored for their research accomplishments. They include Susan E. Hickman of the School of Nursing, the Fairbanks Center for Medical Ethics and the Center for Aging Research, who received the Bantz-Petronio Translating Research Into Practice Faculty Award, and Anthony B. Firulli of the School of Medicine and the Herman B Wells Center for Pediatric Research, who was presented with the Glenn W. Irwin, Jr., M.D., Research Scholar Award.

One faculty and one staff member received the Alvin S. Bynum Award for Excellence in Academic Mentoring. The faculty member is Randall J. Roper of the School of Science, while the staff member is Martha J. Marshall of University College.

IUPUI’s commitment to civic engagement was exemplified in two awards, the Chancellor’s Faculty Award for Civic Engagement, presented to David M. Craig of the School of Liberal Arts, and the Chancellor’s Community Award for Civic Engagement, which went to the Mary Rigg Neighborhood Center, located on the city’s near southwest side.

Two awards categories honored excellence among students. Alycia G. Berman of the School of Engineering and Technology received the Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research, and Allyson L. Dir of School of Science and Rebekah C. Ryan of the School of Liberal Arts received the inaugural Sherry Queener Graduate Student Excellence Award.

There were four categories that had multiple recipients, whose names will be added to a new Academic Affairs “Honors and Awards” page by May 11. Those categories include:

  • Trustees’ Teaching Awards -- 98 people were honored.
  • Prestigious External Award Recognition -- 37 people were honored.
  • Recognizing External Achievements -- 15 people were honored.
  • Chancellor’s Scholars -- 24 people were honored.

Recognizing excellence through campus awards and honors is important to developing the community of scholars at IUPUI. Raising awareness of individual accomplishments is a chief aim of the Chancellor's Academic Honors Convocation.